Early Years Foundation Stage: Our Preschool Curriculum


The Early Years Foundation Stage of the CBSE Curriculum sets standards for the preschool learning, development, and care of children up to 5 years old, to make sure they get the very best start in school and life.

The Early Years Foundation Stage is a time of amazing change, as your child evolves from toddler to emerging learner. Children develop and learn in different ways, and we take account of this in planning our teaching and activities at Grace Mission International School, UJJAIN. As a result, our kindergarten and nursery school curriculum encompasses the education and care of all preschool-aged children, including those who may have some learning challenges.

“Helping your child have the best possible start in life.”

We keep up-to-date with the best preschool educational practices from around the world at our INDIA kindergarten, but our main curriculum guidance is taken from the DELHI. As changes are made to the Foundation Years provision, we look critically at our own practice and make any changes to our preschool teaching that would enhance the education we offer.

Structure of our UJJAIN (M.P) Preschool Programme

The Early Years Foundation Stage is divided into three groups: Nursery, Kindergarten, and Reception. The curriculum is split into three prime and four specific areas of learning, with three learning characteristics that we help our pupils achieve:

Prime Areas of Learning:

  • Communication and Language
  • Physical Development
  • Personal, Social and Emotional Development

Specific Areas of Learning:

  • Literacy
  • Numeracy
  • Understanding the World
  • Expressive Arts and Design

Characteristics of Effective Learning:

  • Playing and Exploring
  • Active Learning
  • Creating and Thinking Critically

For more information on our Early Years program at Grace Mission International School, UJJAIN, please contact our friendly admissions team